Institute of Builders makes special award to Corps of Engineers

Published 12 August 2006

The NZ Institute of Building has established a president’s award, to be handed out every second year, and starting with an unusual one – to the Corps of Royal NZ Engineers for its “commitment to excellence and continuing achievements in the field of humanitarian & development construction, particularly recent efforts in East Timor, Iraq, Afghanistan & the South-west Pacific”.

Work by the engineers included roads, bridges, schools & a maternity ward, but one of the recipients, Neville Mosely, said the highlight was not the projects but the everyday interaction with the local people.

Other awards:

Under $5 million, Hayes Construction award: Excellence, Roy Lehndorf (Arrow International Ltd), Rialto Cinema refurbishment, Newmarket; highly commended, Andrew Clucas (Arrow International Ltd), Avondale Primary School, Christchurch

$5-15 million, Colorsteel Endura award: Excellence, Ian Morris (Fletcher Construction Ltd), New Plymouth foreshore redevelopment; highly commended, Kelvin Billett (Aspec Construction Ltd), Downtown ferry terminals, Auckland

$15-50 million, Holcim award: Excellence, Gary Walker (Fletcher Construction Ltd), AUT Business School, Auckland; highly commended, George Kubicki (Kalmar Projects Ltd), St Lukes Garden Apartments, St Lukes, Auckland, and Gordon Murdoch (Fletcher Construction Ltd), CYPS project, Christchurch

Over $50 million, Davis Langdon award: Excellence, Darryl Carey (Chow Hill), Christchurch Women’s Hospital; highly commended, Ted Senner (Hawkins Construction Ltd), Auckland International Airport pier segregation project

Innovation, Placemakers award: Excellence, Graham Hawkins (Kalmar Projects Ltd) & Greg Neighbours (Jacking Systems (NZ) Ltd), Middlemore Hospital carpark, Auckland; highly commended, Jim Malone (Winstone Wallboards Ltd), GIB Rondo Quiet Stud acoustic wallboard system

Young achiever, NZIOB Progressive Building magazine award: Excellence, grant Thomas (Hawkins Construction Ltd, Auckland) & Grant Taylor (Mainzeal Property & Construction Ltd, Wellington)

Supreme award, James Hardie & GIB: Ian Morris

Want to comment? Click on The new BD Central Forum or email [email protected].


Attribution: Awards ceremony, story written by Bob Dey for this website.

Comments are closed.