Garyth Jones.

Te Oro project manager supreme at building awards, cousins named young achiever & innovator

The site manager for an Auckland Council community facility came out on top at the NZ Institute of Building awards on Friday night, while 2 cousins were named young achiever and innovation award winner.

The supreme award went to Garyth Jones (pictured above, Hawkins Construction Ltd), project site manager for Te Oro Youth Music & Arts Centre in Glen Innes.

Sean McGuinness.

Sean McGuinness.

Cousins Matt & Sean McGuinness, both employed by Wellington family company LT McGuinness Ltd, have done a lot of their work on developments by Willis Bond & Co Ltd, headed by one of their uncles, Mark McGuinness.

The Clyde Quay Wharf apartments project on Wellington’s former Overseas Passenger Terminal claimed the supreme title at the Property Council’s national awards in June.

Matt McGuinness.

Matt McGuinness.

Sean McGuinness won the innovation award for managing the construction of the Clyde Quay under-wharf carpark, which involved casting big concrete slabs above high tide level then, once cured, lowering them into position using synchronised hydraulic jacks.

Matt McGuinness, named young achiever of the year, was construction project manager on Willis Bond’s recently completed One Market Lane in Wellington, which included the fitout for Trade Me’s head office. He’s since moved to Auckland to set up LT McGuinness’s office for projects in the Wynyard Quarter, where Willis Bond is marketing the Wynyard Central apartments.

Award results:

Under $2.5 million, sponsor Resene: Excellence, Brent Henderson (Fletcher Construction, Wellington) for National war memorial hall of memories, Wellington

$2.5-5 million, Steel Construction NZ: Excellence, Joel Cox (Dominion Constructors Ltd), Ricoh head office extension & fitout, Auckland; highly commended, Gary Watson (Plaster Services, Christchurch), Isaac Royal Theatre, Christchurch

$5-10 million, Hays Construction: excellence, Garyth Jones (Hawkins Construction Ltd, Auckland), Te Oro Youth Music & Arts Centre, Glen Innes; highly commended, Robert Kumarich (Ebert Construction Ltd), Penske commercial vehicle facility, Wiri

$10-25 million, Colorsteel: 3 highly commended awards – Michael Bowman (Arrow International (NZ) Ltd), Ormiston primary school; James Corric (NZ Strong Group), Lopdell House & Gallery, Titirangi; and Andrew Rowden (Hawkins Construction, Christchurch), NZ Blood Service, Christchurch

$25-50 million, Holcim Concrete: 2 excellence awards – Darren Cutfield (Ebert Construction, Auckland), NZ Defence Force battle training facility, Auckland; and Andrew Clucas (Leighs Construction Ltd, Christchurch), Rangi Ruru Girls School, Christchurch

Over $50 million, Aecom: excellence, Donal Lynch (Fletcher Construction, Auckland), Auckland South corrections facility, Wiri; 2 highly commended awards – Martin Kernighan (Hawkins Construction, central region), Meade clinical centre, Waikato Hospital, Hamilton; and John Malthus & Kerrin Manuel (LT McGuinness Ltd, Wellington), Clyde Quay wharf development, Wellington

Innovation, James Hardie: Sean McGuinness (LT McGuinness Ltd, Wellington), Clyde Quay sub-wharf basement, Wellington

Young achiever, Progressive Building: Matt McGuinness (LT McGuinness Ltd, Wellington)

Supreme award, GIB: Garyth Jones (Hawkins Construction, Auckland).

Attribution: Awards event, company websites.

, , ,

Comments are closed.